OBITUARIES: Decatur | Shoals | Huntsville
Font Size: A A A A

Leon Sheffield Magnet honors youths
By Seth Burkett
The Decatur Daily

Brennen Smith/The Decatur Daily
Leon Sheffield Elementary School inducted its first National Elementary Honor Society on Sunday during a ceremony at the school.

Decatur City Schools had two firsts Sunday when Leon Sheffield Magnet inducted the first members of the school system’s first National Elementary Honor Society chapter.

“I feel honored,” said fifth-grader Lizzy Truitt, 10, following the ceremony in the school auditorium. “I guess that’s why they call it ‘honor society.’ I didn’t even know we had an honor society.”

Upon being told she was among the first inducted in the city, Truitt added, “Now I feel even more honored.”

The auditorium was packed as 72 of the Wilson Street Northwest elementary school’s 334 students — more than 20 percent — were inducted. Inductees and parents enjoyed refreshments afterward.

Principal Rachel Poovey said the elementary-level honor society aims to make a more seamless transition for students when they move on to middle and high schools.

School officials set the criteria for eligibility. Fourth-graders needed a 95 percent grade average at the end of the first semester. Fifth-graders needed either a 95 percent average either the previous year or the first semester.

Enrichment teacher Nancy Brewer, who played a pivotal role in setting up the chapter and serves as its adviser, said students also had to display good behavior, responsibility and leadership. The inductees will be required to take part in at least four community service projects a year, she said.

“It gives us a chance to recognize our students that are high-achievers and gives them the opportunity to develop their leadership skills for service, and we hope, too, that it’s an encouragement for them to want to continue to succeed,” Brewer said.

Fifth-grader Olivia Coggins, 11, said she hopes to be an Honor Society student through high school.

“She’s been pushing me pretty hard,” Coggins said of her mother.

Fifth-grader Layne Bjornseth, 11, said her induction made her feel special and is an incentive to keep trying.

“Now that I know I’m in it, I’m going to work hard to try and make my grades,” she said.

Seth Burkett can be reached at 256-340-2446.


Students inducted into the National Elementary Honor Society

  • Sean Ambrose
  • Whitney Austin
  • Lorelei Bachuss
  • Jake Bailey
  • Layne Bjornseth
  • Alyssa Borden
  • Kate Buchillon
  • Ashton Bowling
  • Luke Bragwell
  • Jabari Brown
  • Jamie Brown
  • Sara Burgreen
  • Mackenzie Byrd
  • Lauren Cagle
  • Gabe Carpenter
  • Ashtyn Casciano
  • Michael Cheng
  • Jala Clarke
  • Josh Clay
  • Olivia Coggins
  • Endlya Cook
  • Smith Coon
  • Caroline Crane
  • Annie Crisler
  • Matt Curtis
  • Parker Deke
  • Nelson Earley
  • Will Farris
  • Noah Flood
  • Jonathan Folger
  • Ben Glover
  • Kobe Gray
  • Meg Gregory
  • Reed Harbin
  • Hudson Hatfield
  • Lawren Hayes
  • Aaron Henderson
  • Emily Hixon
  • Alexa Hudson
  • Mary Bradford Jackson
  • Ava Jobe
  • Angelina Johnson
  • Ian Jones
  • Carsyn Lee
  • John Mark Lee
  • Sydni Madry
  • Josh Martin
  • Trevor McClain
  • Libby Morgan
  • Zachary Morrison
  • Colin Nelson
  • Meredith Nichols
  • William Penley
  • Audrey Phillips
  • Andrew Rawson
  • Gonzalo Reyes
  • Cole Reynolds
  • Drew Robinson
  • Lucy Sedlak
  • Turner Stepp
  • Annalaura Swinea
  • Christa Terry
  • Tamyra Tidwell
  • Lizzy Truitt
  • Parker Vandine
  • Ashleigh Vickery
  • Ethan Ward
  • KaRon White
  • Olivia Wilborn
  • Jack Wilson
  • Amber Yarborough
  • Sarah Yarborough
Not registered? Click here
E-mail this
Print this


Find more about Weather in Huntsville, AL


Like us on Facebook

TOP LOCAL JOBS, The TN Valley's Source For High School Sports

© TNValleyNow | Privacy Policy | Advertise | Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions